CCES honors its lunch ladies

lunch lady83

lunch lady83CCES students and staff celebrated School Lunch Day on May 5 by displaying pictures on the cafeteria walls identifying their lunch ladies as super heroes. Pictured, from left, are Addie Edwards, Tanisha Walker, Angela Pittman, Angie Jenkins and Katie Pittman. Not pictured is Janie York. Photos by Menisha Gates

Calhoun Baptist Association helps cleanup


baptist11The chainsaw team from the Calhoun Baptist Association typically gets called to other areas of the state to assist in storm cleanup, but last week they were home in Calhoun helping citizens cleanup from the debris left behind by the violent storm on April 30. Pictured above is Phil Lucius sawing on a tree so that Jody Doler can hall the large stump off with the skid steer. The team of nearly a dozen workers at different intervals worked in Bruce, Derma, Calhoun City and Big Creek last week. Photo by Joel McNeece

Golf State Championship

bhs golf

bhs golfCameron Clarke won the Class 2A State Golf Championship Thursday and his Bruce Trojans placed second as a team. Coleman Suber, of Calhoun City, finished third overall individually.

Edmondson’s Portrait

Melissa & Portrait

Melissa & PortraitMelissa Edmondson, of Vardaman, brought by a portrait she had painted of her late father, Supervisor Howard Morgan. She met an artist at a food show who agreed to do the portrait for her. The original photo was made in 2007 with corn grown on Kitt Bryant Family land. In the portrait, Melissa had the artist to include the silo that sits on Hwy 8 on Morgan’s land.

Howard Morgan Old Pic

Vardaman Beauty Review

vard seniorgirls

vard seniorgirlsVardaman High School 11th-12th Grade Beauties, from left, Megan Havens, Courtney Brown, Most Beautiful  Kayla Gaskin, Ansley Casey, C.J. Weddle and Stacie Haimes. See more Beauty Review pictures in this week's CCJ.

Indian expert speaks at ‘City Library

CC Library Speaker

CC Library SpeakerFifty-one patrons attended a lecture sponsored by The Friends of the Calhoun City Public Library recently. Dr. John Dyson, a retired professor of Spanish and Portuguese at Indiana University, is the author of The Early Chickasaw Homeland. Having a special interest in Mississippi place names derived from the Chickasaw language, Dr. Dyson taught library patrons Chickasaw words and phrases while explaining the meaning of local place names. Native artifacts, provided by Harold James, Tommy Brown, and Clemmie Brown, were on display. A Chickasaw Nation land grant deed, signed by President James K. Polk, was also on display, courtesy of Robert Edd and Jackie Boland.

Academy Art

ca art45

ca art452nd Grade District Art Winners from Calhoun Academy include, from left, Caylee Smith, Aubrey Nelson, Jillian Bramlitt, Jaxon McCostlin and Dawson Nichols. Nelson also won at the state level. See more winners in this week's CCJ.

Pinned by tree


IMG_6407Parker Shea Woodcock was trapped in her vehicle when this tree fell across the highway near Big Creek this morning. She was not injured. See more storm pictures in the news section and on The Journal's instagram account.

Bollingers entertain Calhoun City Chamber

Chamber Entertainment

Chamber EntertainmentEddie Bollinger was the featured entertainment at the Calhoun City Chamber of Commerce Banquet Tuesday night. His wife Karen joined him for a couple of songs.

Revitalizing Bruce

Revitalizing Bruce

Revitalizing BruceBruce native Joy Brown Foy, Sara Quillen of Bruce and Bruce native Kay Tutor Rowell were among speakers at the Revitalizing Bruce meeting at the Bruce Museum this morning.