Calendar of Events

•Pleasant Agers will meet at Pleasant Grove Baptist Church Wednesday, Sept. 17. Meet and greet at 11:30 potluck lunch at  noon.  Guest speaker will be Rev. Justin Gates, church pastor. The church is four miles west Bruce on County Road 231.

•2-MAN SCRAMBLE Mid-South Chapter ITPA Golf Tournament will be Thursday, Sept. 18, Yoda Creek Golf Club. 18-hole event with $10,000 hole-in-one prize on Hole #15. $80 team. 10 a.m. shotgun start. Lunch provided. Cash prizes each flight. Mulligans 2/$5. Doorprizes. Golf carts $10 (unless premier cart member.) For info, or 662-983-1211.

•QUICK BITES will meet Thursday, Sept. 18 at noon at the Multi-Purpose Building in Pittsboro. Dr. Wayne Porter will discuss water gardens.

•Yalobusha Historical Society will meet Thursday, Sept. 18,  at 2 p.m. Speaker is Tony Lute, curator of Tupelo Veteran’s Museum. Tony has seriously collected items associated with the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean War and the Vietnam War since the 1960’s. Visitors are welcome. Meeting will be in headquarters, the former Coffeeville Presbyterian Church.

•4-H Kids in the Kitchen club meeting will be Thursday, Sept. 18 at 3:30 and at the Multi-Purpose Building in Pittsboro. Call 662-412-3177 for more information.

•BHS CLASS OF 1984 will have their 30th reunion the weekend of September 19-20. Please contact: Art Spratlin ( (601-985-4568); Kevin Chrestman ( (662-983-8349); Tammy Hellums ( (662-983-4046) or Rhonda Parker ( (662-983-4129) (662-983-2727).

•CALHOUN CITY CLASSES OF 1952 & 1955 will meet at the home of Bill and Dorothy Mosley at 6965 Hwy. 330, Coffeeville on Saturday, Sept. 20 at 11 a.m. For info, call 601-675-8570.

•Stovall, Corbitt, Mhoon, Wortham, Burson Family Reunion will be Saturday, Sept. 20 at the Bruce Community Center starting at 11 a.m. Families are to bring a meat, a vegetable, a desert and drinks. Donation requested of $25 for each family of four for building expenses. For info: Mary Cole-832-2697, Debra Phillips – 983-8950 or Larry Corbitt -800-4787.

•ANNUAL BRATTON REUNION will be Sunday, Sept. 21 at Bruce Community Building. All family and friends are invited.

•PIECES AND PATCHES will meet Monday, Sept. 22 at 1 p.m. at the Multipurpose Building. Everyone is welcome to attend.

•Gardener’s Delight and Master Gardeners will meet Monday, Sept. 22 at Creative Designs at 6:30 p.m. The group will be decorating/painting pumpkins. Fee for the class is $10 payable to Created Designs. You will need to purchase your pumpkin before the meeting. Everyone is welcome. Please call the Extension Office to RSVP.

•4-H Handy Helpers club meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 23. The meeting will begin at 3:30 and will be held at the Multi-Purpose Building in Pittsboro. Please call 662-412-3177 for more information.

•Calhoun County School District Federal Programs meeting will be Tuesday, Sept. 23, at 6 p.m. at the Multi-Purpose building in Pittsboro.

•Leader Training will be held at the Multipurpose Building Tuesday, Sept. 23 at 10 a.m. Charlotte Mullinnix from the Mississippi Organ Retrieval Agency, will present the program. Everyone in the community is welcome. There will be a brief MHV Advisory Committee/Program Planning meeting following Leader Training at 11 a.m.

•BILLY EARL BAKER BENEFIT will be Saturday, Sept. 24 at Vardaman Fire Dept. BBQ plates will be served from 4-6 p.m. Auction will be at 6 p.m. For info, call Judy Criddle, 567-2134.

•QUICK BITES will meet Thursday, Sept. 25 at noon at the Multi-Purpose Building in Pittsboro. What Happens to Weeds in Fall & Winter? is the program by Dr. John Byrd.

•ACE CANNON ROOM OPENING RECEPTION will be Sunday, Sept. 28 from 2 – 4 p.m. at the south end of the Calhoun City City Hall. The Ace Cannon Trio will perform.
Bring a seat. Refreshments served.

•McQuay’s 6th Annual Retiree Reunion is scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 2 at 1:00 p.m. at the Gore Springs Community Center.  All retired McQuay employees and spouses and spouses of deceased retirees are invited. It’s not required, but  you may bring a finger food or dessert. Drinks provided. Donations to cover rental and miscellaneous expenses accepted.

•56th Annual Sarepta Homecoming will be Sunday, Oct. 5 at 10 a.m. at the pavilion. Guest speaker will be the Honorable Thomas Frederick Wicker of Pontotoc. Lunch is potluck. Bring a dish and enjoy a day of fellowship.

•Calhoun County Republican Party and Calhoun County Republican Women will have their Annual Banquet on Tuesday, Oct. 7 at 6:30 p.m. All elected officials and Judicial candidates have been invited to speak. Special entertainment will be Mike West, comedian from Water Valley. Tickets are $20 and include dinner. For information or to purchase a ticket, contact Geneise Hitt 662-637-2211, Linda Haire  662-983-7756 or any member of the Republican Party.

•BRUCe BURST OF COLOR 5K RUN/WALK will be Saturday, Oct. 11. Event will begin and end at BHS. Pre-register for $30 through Sept. 27. Day of run, fee will be $40. Registration will begin at 7 a.m. and run/walk at 8 a.m. Proceeds go toward building a press box and new lights on BHS softball field. For info, Angie Owen, 662-414-0990 or or Maria Baker, 662-816-0500, T-shirt included in early registration.

•DOG LOVERS! LEAGUE FOR NO-KILL SHELTER meets the first Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at Bruce Park Pavilion. For info, call 983-7471.

•DRIVER’S LICENSE RENEWAL station is open in Pittsboro every third Tuesday from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. at the old tax assessor’s office/church building near the entrance to the Multi-Purpose Building on Hwy 9.

•COUNTRY COUPLES/LINE DANCING classes are being held on the second and fourth Tuesday nights at each month at 6:30 p.m. at the American Legion in Calhoun City. For more information call 628-0617.

•CALHOUN ANTIQUE TRACTOR CLUB meets the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at the Vardaman Sweet Potato Festival building. Danny Tutor is club president. For more info, call 682-7594. Everyone is invited.

•ARE YOU A CANCER PATIENT? Calhoun Cares is an ongoing non-profit organization to benefit cancer patients. If you are taking cancer treatments and you live in Calhoun County, you are eligible for assistance. Contact Calhoun Cares, Tammy Tallant, 662-983-0864.

•LOOSA SCHOONA CHAPTER of the Daughters of the American Revolution will meet the second Monday of each month from September through May at Jeffery’s on Bruce Square at 2:30 p.m. Meal is Dutch treat.


mini cheer

Supervisors approve budget with 1-mil tax increase and employee pay raise

Earnest Fox

Calhoun County supervisors approved the 2014-15 budget with some changes from the one presented including a 3% pay raise for employees.

[Read more...]


Water Valley defeats Bruce 32-21 in controversy filled game

Zack Cruthirds breaks through the line for a 71-yard touchdown run.

The Bruce Trojans suffered a 32-21 loss at Water Valley Friday night, but the outcome of the game turned out to be less of a story than the controversy within.

[Read more...]

Hamilton pulls away late to defeat Vardaman


It seemed for one half on Friday that Vardaman had found its identity this season.

[Read more...]

Big game from Gates leads unbeaten Wildcats to win at Pontotoc

city pontotoc1

Calhoun City QB Chakel Gates delivered his best game of the season in leading the uneaten Wildcats to an easy 35-0 win at Pontotoc Friday night.

[Read more...]

vhs cheer

Calhoun City wins again, Vardaman falls, Bruce involved in controversy

Deputies look on as teams shake hands.

Calhoun City continued to roll, Vardaman suffered another lopsided defeat and Bruce was involved in lots of controversy in Friday night football action.

[Read more...]